Activities For Kids

As heard on the Volunteer Roundtable:

Fun activities to do with children through regular mail.

Talk to Kids About Coronavirus - from Counselor Keri

https://www.counselorkeri.com/2020/03/14/talk-to-kids-about-coronavirus/

Mo Williams Lunch Doodle

Mo Willems is the artist in residence at The Kennedy Center right now, and he has a new YouTube show, Lunch Doodles, which is a daily show, about 20 minutes long. It’s a fun, interactive show designed especially for kids who are home right now about doodling, art, and writing.

https://youtu.be/RmzjCPQv3y8 

The Khan Academy 

ART MUSEUMS

Visit some of the best art galleries in the world virtually. From Paris to New York to Amsterdam, kids can see priceless works of art from the world’s most famous artists.

  1. Louvre Museum, Paris https://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne

  2. National Gallery of Art, Washington DC https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/national-gallery-of-art-washington-dc?hl=en

  3. Metropolitan Museum of Art https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/the-metropolitan-museum-of-art

  4. Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/van-gogh-museum?hl=en

  5. Uffizi Gallery, Florence Italy https://artsandculture.google.com/partner/uffizi-gallery?hl=en

 

ACTIVITIES AND RESOURCES

  • Choose a favorite painting or sculpture and create a copycat piece of art.

  • Research an artist. This is a great book about some amazing artists kids should know about https://amzn.to/38QWQGf (affiliate link)

  • Choose a piece of art to focus on. Describe it, tell why you chose it and how it makes you feel.

  • Choose 2 works of art to compare.

ZOOS

Zoo webcams have allowed visitors to drop in on the habitats of some of the zoo’s favorite animal exhibits.

  1. San Diego Zoo https://kids.sandiegozoo.org/videos

  2. Zoo Atlanta Panda Cam https://youtu.be/_6wbfVWVk8Q

  3. Smithsonian’s National Zoo https://nationalzoo.si.edu/webcams

  4. Reid Park Zoo Lion Cam in Tuscon, AZ http://reidparkzoo.org/cameras/lion-cam/

  5. Ouwehand Park Polar Bear Cubs Rhenen, Netherland https://explore.org/livecams/polar-bears/polar-bear-ouwehand-twin-cubs-cam-2

 

ACTIVITIES AND RESOURCES

AQUARIUMS

Just like with zoos, aquariums have used webcams to let you visit their exhibits virtually. In addition, some aquariums have set up virtual tours led by their staff to give visitors a more in depth look at their facility.

  1. Monterey Bay Aquarium https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals-and-exhibits/live-web-cams

  2. Georgia Aquarium https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/ocean-voyager/

  3. National Aquarium Virtual Tour http://samuraivirtualtours.com/example/nadc/index.html

  4. Virtual Tour of the Seattle Aquarium

 

ACTIVITIES AND RESOURCES

 

TRAVEL THE WORLD

In this day and age, it is easier than ever to travel the world without leaving home.

  1. Google Maps street view will allow you to visit almost any destination around the world. Check out this view from Pompei.

  2. Visit the Great Wall of China https://www.thechinaguide.com/destination/great-wall-of-china

  3. Virtually discover Yellowstone National Park https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/photosmultimedia/virtualtours.htm

  4. Tour England through this 360 video.

  5. Take a live look at Colonial Williamsburg.

  6. Go on a virtual field trip to Ellis Island.

 

ACTIVITIES AND RESOURCES

  • Plan a trip to a new destination. What would you do, see, eat?

  • Make a travel brochure for the destination you visited.

  • Write a postcard from that destination. Include details about the place and what you can see there.